Minister for Social Inclusion, the Hon Tanya Plibersek MP, has announced the members of the Australian Government’s Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council (the Council).

The Council fulfils an important election promise and demonstrates the Government’s ongoing commitment to the not-for-profit sector.

The Council is made up of well-known figures from the not-for-profit sector. To help drive the Government’s plans to reform the sector, the Council will examine the scope of a national one-stop-shop regulator, provide advice on streamlining tendering and contracting processes for Government-funded not-for-profits, consider bringing together of federal, state and territory laws on fundraising and support the implementation of the National Compact: working together.

Australian Government’s Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council (the Council).

Full membership of the Council includes:

* Linda Lavarch – Australian Centre for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies (Chair)
* Anne Robinson – Prolegis Lawyers (Deputy Chair)
* Glenn Appleyard – Australian Accounting Standards Board
* Ken Baker – National Disability Services
* Sandy Blackburn-Wright – Westpac, Community Development
* Kasy Chambers – Anglicare
* Michael Coleman – KPMG / Planet Ark
* David Crosbie – Community Council for Australia
* Cassandra Goldie – Australian Council of Social Service
* Suzie Haslehurst – Magabala Books Aboriginal Corporation
* Evelyn O’Loughlin – Volunteering SA and NT
* Frank Quinlan – Catholic Social Services Australia

The Council will be governed by the following Terms of Reference.

Terms of reference for the not-for-profit sector reform council


The Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council (the Council) will be established by the Commonwealth Government for three years to support the Office for the Not-for-Profit Sector (the Office) to implement the Government’s commitment to smarter regulation, reduced red tape and improved transparency and accountability of the sector.

The role of the Council is to provide support to the Office in its role to drive and coordinate the Government’s not-for-profit sector reform agenda.

The Council will provide advice to the Government on not-for-profit issues, including:

* examining the scope of a national ‘one-stop shop’ regulator for the sector including its role, feasibility and structure;
* streamlining Commonwealth Government tendering and contracting processes for government funded not-for-profit organisations, including the development of a common form contract; and
* harmonisation of fundraising and other Commonwealth, state and territory laws.

The Council will also provide advice on the Productivity Commission’s report into the not-for-profit sector and other related reviews.

The Council will also support the implementation of the National Compact: working together.


Membership of the Council will be determined by the Minister for Social Inclusion

The Council will comprise of up to twelve members and will be led by a Chair and Deputy Chair.

Membership will be reviewed annually, to provide a balance of continuing members with new members.

Members will be reimbursed costs for economy travel, accommodation and incidentals to attend the meetings. Sitting fees will not apply.

The Council will meet up to four times per year face-to-face. Additional meetings will be conducted via phone conference.


The Council will work closely with the Office for the Not-for-Profit Sector. The Council may convene working groups as necessary to consider particular issues in depth and report back to the full Council. These sub-groups may consult external experts in the field to inform their deliberations.

For more information go to Social Inclusion

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *